Searching for Autumn in Southern California

Getting away from the heat and the traffic of L.A. was a real tonic.

Getting away from the heat and the traffic of L.A. was a real tonic.

The heat of summer had overstayed its welcome here in Los Angeles.  Well into October I decided I’d had enough and went in search of cooler air, the smell of wood fires, and perhaps some fall color.  I booked a wilderness cabin in William Heise County Park near the little mountain town of Julian, California. For three nights and four days I’d have nothing on my plate but riding, camping, and more riding.

Home for a coupe of nights.

Home for a coupe of nights.

San Diego County’s William Heise County Park has wonderful rustic cabins equipped with propane fireplace/heaters and electricity.  Wifi was promised but did not function.

 

This little heater was appreciated as the temperature dipped into the 40s overnight.

This little heater was appreciated as the temperature dipped into the 40s overnight.

Panorama shows the tiny room larger than it is. Bring your sleeping mat and bag/blankets.

Panorama shows the tiny room larger than it is. Bring your sleeping mat and bag/blankets.

Lake Cuyamaca and the Anza-Borrego Desert

Lake Cuyamaca and the Anza-Borrego Desert

Along a country road

Along a country road

A view of the desert from the mountains.

A view of the desert from the mountains.

Ring-mounts for securing tail bag.

Ring-mounts for securing tail bag.

I noticed I'd completely lost the aft mount. Amazingly, the forward mount held, even with a large bottle of water in the case.

I noticed I’d completely lost the aft mount. Amazingly, the forward mount held, even with a large bottle of water in the case.

The owners of this hardware store, just outside Julian, were from a town about 25 minutes from my Long Island hometown. The dog had just shown up when I arrived. Here I bought what I needed to keep my side cases attached to the bike.

The owners of this hardware store, just outside Julian, were from a town about 25 minutes from my Long Island hometown. The dog had just shown up when I arrived. Here I bought what I needed to keep my side cases attached to the bike.

The road and the sky, after Jackson Browne.

The road and the sky, after Jackson Browne.

Two crow tree.

Two crow tree.

A bit of autumn can indeed be found in Southern California.

A bit of autumn can indeed be found in Southern California.

Pam's Place, Descanso.  I bought 3 lbs of orange blossom honey here. Also ate a delicious, sweet peach.

Pam’s Place, Descanso. I bought 3 lbs of orange blossom honey here. Also ate a delicious, sweet peach.

The mountain night, lit only by stars was surprisingly dark to someone accustomed to city life.

The mountain night, lit only by stars was surprisingly dark to someone accustomed to city life.

 

2008 Triumph Bonneville. 52,000 miles and going strong.

2008 Triumph Bonneville. 52,000 miles and going strong.

 

Adios amigos.

See you on the road.

This entry was posted in Motorcycle touring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

